My (never ending) search for the perfect Sugar Cookie.

Currently, I’m on a mission: I want the recipe for the BEST Sugar Cookie. Why? To be honest, no idea. I guess cuz I’m on this “cookie phase” and I’ve done Oatmeal and Peanut Butter Cookies, but Sugar Cookies. I have not. I find the Sugar Cookie to be a hard cookie to master. It looks SO easy, but yet there’s a kabajillion (yeup, I’m sure thats an actual number) different ways to make it.

But alas, I believe I have found it!!! So being my usual DIY-self. I gave it a try. Now note: I made these small sized. Porque? Because I am currently on another mission: I’m trying to drops some LB’s (thats pounds in hipster). Sunday I ran in a 5k, but I found out how much I weight and how much body fat I had at a clinic table and lets just say its probably not a good thing when 1/4th of you is made up of body fat.  I have no shame in admitting that.

So with that recent discovery, I’ve decided to cut back (not really) on the sweets.(HA! YEAH RIGHT) Mainly just smaller sized portions I guess. Operation “Lose Weight By Thanksgiving” is in full effect. Yesterday, I went and bought Spinach. For realz. But I’ll keep y’all posted about that laters. Here’s my recipe.

  • 3 C’s Flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder ( nice thing here, if you forget to add this, it’ll end up being Short Bread Cookies. So you can still eat ’em)
  • 1 C  Butter (Near Pudding like, I’m not a fan of the term “Softened”)
  • 1 C Sugar (Duh)
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg (Room Temperature)

Bake at 350 degrees(z) for about 8-10 minutes.

Note: Let the dough sit in the fridge for about 30 minutes, so the butter hardens up. And you can make them as big( or small) as you want.

Ladies and Gents, enjoy.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “My (never ending) search for the perfect Sugar Cookie.

  1. kat says:

    Oh yum! Definitely going to try this! I didn’t really like how my sugar cookies came out the last time I made them, so this recipe sounds perfect and looks delicious!!!

  2. Carroll says:

    Looks great! Do you t
    Hink you can decorate them?

  3. cookingsomethingsimple says:

    I’ll tell you what, I have a hard time with certain type of desserts…(Short Bread Cookies for example) I’ve made this recipe several times and they always turn out and they taste great 🙂 http://cooksomethingsimple.wordpress.com/2011/11/01/sugar-cookies/ give em a try and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

