Thanksgiving 2011 Dessert Recap pt. 1: Chocolate Cake w/ Peanut Butter Frosting

 

Thanksgiving’s come and gone. And I survived it. Barely.

For those of y’all who kinda stumbled upon here, I did most of the Thanksgiving mea for la familia. Minus the Turkey,Dressing and Green Beans, I was in charge of everything else such as Cranberry Sauce, Sweet Potatoes, Biscuits and of course Desserts.

AND somehow that morning I ran in a 5K Turkey Trot. How’d I do it? No idea. And No Sleep.

If y’all curious, I ran the race in 26:27. That sucker was all hills. Nobody said nothing about it being all hills. And I had to walk to the MARTA and figure out how to get home. It was soo popular that most of downtown was blocked off, so a majority of folks had to ride the MARTA down to the race. And by the end of the day, I felt like I pulled a hammy and broke my leg at the same time. No idea why

So to answer the question if I partook in this year’s Black Friday shopping? The answer is: HELL NAW!!! (BTW Anybody else annoyed by that Kohl’s commercial using that “Friday” song?)

So back to the post, this is a 3 part series (kinda like that Twilight thing folks obsess about only a bajillion times better.) Where I show y’all the desserts I served up for the Turkey Day. First up, the chocolate cake with Peanut Butter Frosting and Chocolate Ganache up top.  Marvel at it.

This was probably the toughest dessert of them all. Not necessarily that chocolate cake is hard. But it was hard figuring out what kind of cake to make.

First I thought Red Velvet or Snickerdoodle. But my dad insisted on a chocolate cake. So I figured, eh why not. But I didnt want it to just do chocolate on chocolate. I had bought some peanut butter chips a while back and didnt want them to go to waste. And chocolate and peanut butter? Come on son.

The Ganache part was simply improvised. Sometimes I don’t know what goes on up there in my head. But somehow, it worked. That’s the nice thing about baking sometimes, is a lot of good ideas come from not so thought out ideas.

It kinda reminds of that cheesecake from the cheesecake factory. Speaking of which I made cheesecake too. But that’s for another time.

Subscribe to this sucker and Stay tuned.

But for now enjoy looking at chocolate cake. Try it. It’s GOOD.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Thanksgiving 2011 Dessert Recap pt. 1: Chocolate Cake w/ Peanut Butter Frosting

  1. Those are some beautiful images! I’m glad I have a chocolate by my side, otherwise I’d be craving right now! When you have the time, do check out my new post. I’d love to hear from you! Here is my link,
    http://whenharrymetcelery.wordpress.com/2011/11/25/but-naturally/

  2. kat says:

    wow, that cake is amazing!! you take such beautiful photos! 🙂

  3. Dang! Your food looks amazing. Nice work!

  4. The Hook says:

    Very cool, tasty post!

  5. ash says:

    Looks amazing! Thanks for sharing!

  6. andreahood says:

    Looks very yummy! I was just thinking over the weekend how I wanted to create a chocolate peanut butter cake, after drinking a chocolate peanut butter imperial stout! Mmm both together would be amazing!

  7. The Blonde says:

    Omg. You had me at peanut butter. Too bad it was at the very end of your post title…

Leave a Reply

