Pineapple Curd. Lets see if this’ll top Cinnamon Rolls. Prob Not.

Well Ladies and Gentleman, Boys& Girls, Dogs and Cats. It’s FRIDAY!! No I’m not gonna sing that song. (PARTYIN, PARTYIN… somebody finish the line!) And it’s the first post that’s not about Cinnamon Rolls. BTW if any of y’all try to make the recipe in my last post, how’d they turn out??? I wanna hear from you. Seriously. I done got quite a few followers after my new found “fame”. So don’t be shy, TELL ME!!!

X-mas is about what 2 weeks away. Have I done any shopping? Nope. See I pride myself in being that “wait til the week before christmas to buy anybody a gift” guy. Kinda a bit of procrastination and I refuse to partake in Black Friday shopping.

I refuse to be punched (or rather punch somebody) in the face or tasered over a damn waffle iron. Sorry folks, that’s the truth.

But I decided about 2 X-mas’s ago, that I’d start making food gifts for people. Why? Well, long story short: I was finishin my internship with an MLS team (that recently changed it’s name) and I was broke. Not broke, broke. But not enough to spend lots of money folks. And I was sitting in church one night and the pastor talked about making gifts rather than just throwin money at folks. Because people appreciate homemade gifts more and it stuck in my head. Seriously, the few times I’ve ever paid attention in church. Shocking.

So that year I made Apple-Cinnamon Oatmeal Bread and last year, I made homemade Hot Chocolate Mix. So what’s Ole-Bill giving his fam this year? No idea. I’m thinking Homemade Applesauce. Thoughts?

But here’s an idea for y’all: Pineapple Curd in a Mason Jar. Hot right?

I came up with the Pineapple Curd after a client asked for a Coconut and Pineapple Cake. I didn’t want to just throw pineapple on top of the cake or on the sides and call it a day. I wanted to make a filling for it. Found a way to make Pineapple Curd only using a couple of egg yolks. I like to use ALL my ingredients when I can, shame to see an egg white go to waste for nothin.

Now before I end this post, Id like to show yall how it’s done. (HUZZAH!! Right?)

  • 2 C’s of Pineapple Juice. (either from a can or chop up a fresh pineapple)
  • 1/4 C  of Sugar
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1/3 C of Flour

And that’s it. Seriously.

Sidenotes:

  • Just add the Juice with the sugar in a saucepan, put it on medium, medium low heat and let the sugar dissolve.
  • Stir in the 2 yolks, one at a time. And be quick about it. You let it sit, it’ll scramble.
  • The flour’s there to thicken it up.

I think that’d be good on some toast, or maybe on some fruit cake. Or maybe even straight out the jar with a spoon.

So there y’all have it. Maybe it’s a gift idea y’all consider making for somebody.

I say y’all cuz I’m from Texas. Don’t judge.

That’s it for now. If you just stumbled upon this sucker and like what you see. Subscribe, Comment, go OOH and AHH, don’t matter. I’d  just like to hear from y’all. Not sure if it’ll top my cinnamon roll post, but like I said before, I only thought 5 people would look at it, tops.

Now I’m off to eat a sandwich. Now that’s a funny word.”Sandwich”.  As somebody said in a movie ” That aint sand, that’s kittie litter.” What MOVIE?!!

Here’s one more pic for the road.

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Pineapple Curd. Lets see if this’ll top Cinnamon Rolls. Prob Not.

  1. eeva says:

    i had a look, but it doesn`t look that tasty as previous one, hah…

  2. delicio8 says:

    I love lemon curd, never thought of pineapple. It’s probably just a delicious. You could make pineapple bars instead of lemon bars with it!

  3. izzytortuga says:

    i think this would be better than lemon curd. Lemon curd is not creative enough

Leave a Reply

