Red(ish) Velvet Scones. An attempt at being christmas-y

I know. I know. More Scones. I don’t know, this is like what the 5th time I’ve posted about scones? But go with me on this one. Red Velvet Scones. If you don’t stick with what i just said, maybe this pic outta help.

Did it work?

Yes? No? Maybe?

Where’s a check box when you need one. Anywhos

I also gotta confess: these aint technically red. I used maroon food coloring mainly cuz I ran out of red food coloring. But they look red enough right?

So some of y’all are probably asking: “What up with this idea Ole-Bill?”

Welp, I really hadnt been in much of a christmas mood. Not that I’m being an “uncle scrooge”. But because it hadnt been cold enough down south to make it feel like. That and I JUST put up the tree and decorations. It’s plastic, don’t judge.

And x-mas is all about the Red and Green. And I’ve been wanting to make a unique twist to the Red Velvet idea. Since that’s huge this time of year. And since i’m such a “scone-a-holic” i guess, thus came the “Red Velvet Scones”.

Next to the Brown Sugar Scone recipe, this is another one of those “Fly by the pants of your seat” ideas of mine where I was trying to clear out the pantry and see what I got to make something without spending a dime at Wal-Mart or at Target.

I can’t really pick a team for that one. I like ’em both.

I also was kinda nervous cuz I wasnt sure if they would work or not. But like Timmy Tebow, they looked good at the end. (If you dont understand the analogy, he plays in the NFL). Before I get booed for the Timmy joke.  I like him as a person, not so much bein a Quarterback.

I also figure, maybe one of y’all might make it and tell me what they think. I’ll even put the recipe down. I swear I’m gettin better at this since I’ve gotten “FAMOUS”. I’m trying to keep bringing that up until it gets old.Which I’m sure will be in about another week.

So enough with the random banter, here’s my recipe:

Dry

  • 2 1/2 C of Flour
  • 1 tblspoon of cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 1/2 tsp of baking powder

Wet(ish)ingredients

  • 1/2 C of Butter (Cold and Cubed)
  • 1 C of Buttermilk
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp of red (or maroon) food coloring
  • 1/3 C of Sugar

Bake for 12-15 minutes at 425 degrees

Sidenotes:

  • Add the food coloring into the buttermilk, that way your hands wont get stained with food color.
  • You’ll have some left over flour/cocoa mix, add it to the “Batter” to help it not stick to the bowl and also for easy removal to the baking sheet.

And you’ll get this:

Hopefully, y’all like it and impress your friends and fam during the holiday season. And if they ask, you can tell ’em “Ole-Bill taught me”

Maybe not. But it’s worth a shot right?

For more “Adventures” subscribe to this sucker and stay tuned.

Oh and the answer to last week’s movie quote (if you cared), it was from “The Little Rascals”.

That’s it.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Red(ish) Velvet Scones. An attempt at being christmas-y

  1. Nikitaland says:

    GOT AN IDEA FOR YOU! HOW ABOUT WE DESIGN A “RECIPE BOOK” FOR YOU WITH ALL YOUR FABULOUS RECIPES! I CAN HELP YOU OUT!

  2. kat says:

    those look so tasty! such a great idea for christmas morning 🙂

Leave a Reply

