The Return of The Triple Chocolate Mousse. I love the word “Mousse”

 

Now before I talk about the dessert I made this week, I just wanted to take a moment to say this. Really don’t take life for granted.

A girl in my bible study class recently lost her brother when he went out boating and was missing for several days. I met her brother a couple of times, a good kid from what I recall. But it’s just sad to have this happen esp with Christmas only a few days away. But unfortunately it takes something like this to make us appreciate our lives than what gift you may (or may not )have gotten.

No easy way to transition, but I just wanted to throw that out there. For those who stressin over having to deal with their folks during the Holidays. Just grin and bear it.

This dessert here:

Was made for my class’ x-mas party. I figured it’d be a nice dessert to have for the Holidays w/it being nice and rich and it’s chocolate. Duh. Winning. (I”m sure that has to be the phrase of the year)

I originally did this back in February for V-day. But folks kept begging me to make it again, or give ’em the recipe for it. I even made a mini dessert for my bud Franny. That’s her nickname.

So before you go all “NO RECIPE?!! COME ON SON!!!” I’ll give you my interpretation of said dessert. I found it off “Annie’s Eats”. But I tweaked it abit.

It’s in 3 layers

For the bottom layer

  • 6 tbsp. unsalted butter, softened
  • 6 oz. bittersweet chocolate, (I used the chip kind and melt over double boiler)
  • 1/2 tsp. of peppermint extract
  • 1½ tsp. vanilla extract
  • 4 large eggs, separated*
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar, packed

Bake for 15 minutes @325 degrees

Sidenote: The eggs MUST be separated. This is essentially a flour-less cake in a nutshell. And the egg whites must  be whipped into soft peaks cuz it’s basically the baking powder/soda and gives this thing it’s body. Then fold into the mixture. Other wise you got a oozy mess on your hands.

For the middle layer

  • 2 tbsp. cocoa powder, preferably Dutch-processed
  • 1/4 C. hot water
  • 6 oz. bittersweet chocolate chips, (melted over a double boiler)
  • 1½ cups heavy cream
  • 1 tbsp. granulated sugar
  • Pinch of salt

Sidenote: Add the chocolate together, whip the heavy cream, fold in the chocolate after it’s cooled down some. Fold is diff from mixing. You wanna gently add it in and not deflate the mousse. (Talk to the mousse)

For the Top layer

  • 1 tsp. powdered gelatin
  • 1 tbsp. water
  • 6 oz. white chocolate chips
  • 1½ cups heavy cream

Side note:

  • After combining the gelatin and water together and letting it set for 5 minutes. Take 1/2 C of Heavy Cream and bring to a scold, add in the gelatin. Pour over the white chocolate.
  • Whip up the 1 cup of H.Cream left and fold in the white chocolate mixture.

And you should get something like this

Decorate how ever you like. Chocolate “Snow” or whatever you can think of.

Well, thats all I got for today. Sorry to sound sad in the beginning, but I just wanted to throw it out there especially for the Holidays.

Hopefully y’all give this a shot. It’s real easy to put together. I know folks tend to say that but for real, if I could do this. SO COULD YOU!

Like what you see, then subscribe to this sucker.

Til then. Talk to the Mousse. Random. But I just like that word. Mousse.

Mousse Out.

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Return of The Triple Chocolate Mousse. I love the word “Mousse”

  1. 7cakes says:

    This looks delish! I looooove mousse =D

  2. boltecouple says:

    I’m weeping at the beauty of the mousse.

Leave a Reply

