Homemade Applesauce. Nuff Said.

 

Oh hey there. How y’all been? Enjoyed the Holidays? Eat so much that you decided today to hit the treadmill? No? Well its still the holidays so continue pigging out.

You get the perfect gift you always wanted? Me? Well unless I was desperate for a pair of pants that aint have holes in ’em at the bottom then yeah I guess so.

Usually I end up getting a bunch of cash since I guess I’m hard to shop for. But it’s okay cuz I usually just buy a fitted cap or something silly. To be honest I really aint come up with a X-Mas list this year. I forgot.

But that aint the premise of X-mas.

Besides it being sweet baby jesus’ b-day, it’s a time for us to get together as family and friends and enjoy each other’s company and prep for the new year coming. And also give gifts from the heart: Thus hear comes the part about my gift for people.

Applesauce.

This was one of my food gifts this year to the fam. (Thats short for “Family” fyi) Why applesauce you ask? Well I figure Apples are a good fall/winter fruit. And it’s hearty/healthy food to have during the winter months while most of us try to work off all that guilt known as HAM and whatever you want to fill in the blank with. Mine is Cake. Yeup.

I think this gift was well received this year compared to the first year when I gave folks loafs of Apple-Cinnamon Oatmeal Bread. That one was a random X-mas anyways.

I even bought Mason Jars and put a bow on ’em. I love a nice big Mason Jar. I don’t know why, I just love ’em. They just scream Old & Southern. Kinda like me. Sorta.

So y’all prob thought it was a labor intensive process to make this applesauce. Well if you mean cooking it in a big pot for about 15 minutes? Then yeah it was.

Nah it wasnt. It was fairly easy to pull off. If y’all wondering what kind of apples  I used. Granny Smith’s.

I like Granny Smith’s cuz they are nice and tart and hold up to high heat without turning water-y. Esp when it comes to baking with them.  Honey Crisp is a close second favorite of mine.

But if you know of any other apple you like, go ahead . Just make sure it aint too watery. Cuz then it’ll just be mush. And not chunky. It’s gotta be chunky. Kinda like Peanut Butter. But that’s another story.

Here’s how I did it:

  • 8 Large Granny Smith (Or Whatever Kind of) Apples. Peeled and Chopped.
  • 1 1/2 Cups of Sugar
  • 3 Cups of Water
  • 1 Lemon
  • 1 Tablespoon Cinnamon

Sidenotes:

  • This works in a pot that holds a quart of a liquid.
  • After chopping the apples, squirt the lemon juice over ’em so they dont brown.
  • Add the cinnamon last, once the apples start to look like applesauce.
  • This whole process takes about 10 Minutes.

And you’ll get this

Not bad huh?

Hopefully this’ll make you feel less guilty about that HAM you ate too much of.

Like what you see, subscribe to this sucker. I’m thinking of doing a recap of this year, like everybody been doing. Thoughts?

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Homemade Applesauce. Nuff Said.

  1. How beautiful. I love your blog and can’t wait to make some apple sauce next fall when I’m drowning in apples.

Leave a Reply

