Healthy (Dessert) Eating pt.1: Grapefruit Sorbet

Grapefruit Sorbet. Where do I begin? Well first of all, I’d apologized for the delayed post. It’s been a wacky few days. From surviving a city-wide flood (for real) to surviving the dentist office.

I swear, I think they get a kick outta using that small hook scraper.

And also my voice is shot/horse. I got to witness the Texans first playoff win.EVER. And I can barely talk without my voice cracking. Oh well.

But back to subject title at hand. I realized last post that I talked about tryin to lose weight. Baked Eggnog French Toast prob wasnt the best post to start the year with. But I got somethin 4 y’all!

Grapefruit Sorbet.

I know, I know. ANOTHER SORBET??!!

But this is actually a healthy dessert. If ya’ didnt know, Grapefruit (allegedly) helps with the fat breakdown. I can attest. Back after I graduated high skool (I like to spell it that way. Don’t Judge) I ballooned in weight due to going to a certain fast food chain 3 times a week with my friends. We were cheap back then and thought “EH. Why not”

That summer I drank grapefruit juice a lot. And it sorta worked.

Now will I have a weight loss commercial with me now and a obviously photoshopped pic of me stretched wide claiming that was me “BEFORE”. No.

But Grapefruit, after getting over the extremely bitter taste can be delish. Yeah I said it. Delish.

So how to make it?  Shockingly easy.

  • 3 Cups of Grapefruit Juice
  • 1 1/2 C of Sugar
  • 1 1/2 C of Water

Sidenote: Bring the Sugar and Water to a boil to make a simple syrup. Then add the Grapefruit Juice and let that come up to a boil.

And thats it. Now if y’all got an ice cream maker, use that. If not like moi. It’s simple but it does take some time. I’d suggest making it on a weekend when you not working.

Basically take your cooled down mixture and put in the fridge and every 45 minutes take it out and use a handmixer to break up the ice. And put back in the freezer.

Keep doing that until it has the texture of ice cream.  I had to look that up.(Shout out to David Lebovitz).

And you’ll get something like this

So if y’all wanna something to feel less guilty about. Gon’ head and give it a try. It’s got the grapefruit flavor with a little sweetness to it.

Now excuse me, I gotta go start training (again) for this race I’m fixin to run on Sunday at the crack of dawn.

Hopefully I wont get trampled. Fingers Crossed.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Healthy (Dessert) Eating pt.1: Grapefruit Sorbet

  1. ayoungfoodie says:

    Going to try this (hopefully) at the weekend.
    I really like your style of writing and it was a pleasure to read.
    Keep on cooking!

  2. Ariela says:

    Reblogged this on Ariela Dionisio's Blog and commented:
    OoOo would love to try this! 🙂

  3. Yay, sorbet recipe without a ice cream machine! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

