Whoopie Pies, Vegan Style. With Orange Buttercream. Yeup.

 

Happy Friday everybody!! Another week in the books. Well, sorta. Anywhos whats gone down since the last time?

Welp apparently there was a war on SOAP. (I’m aware how it’s spelled). And a few brits thought we were hating on Prince William’s sister in law. PIPA.

To get off topic for a minute, but for real. WHY IS SHE FAMOUS??? Did I miss a memo or something on why folks should care about Kate’s sister and make her as (or possibly more) famous as Kate? Somebody tell me please. She kinda up there with people who are just famous for no damn good reason.

Anyways, sorry about that.

I’ve decided since the last post to make this “Vegan Week” I guess since I figured I can bake without eggs or dairy and it actually tasted good. Now will I make the switch and convert?? NOPE. But it’s somethin to think about though.

I wanted to see if this could work for whoopie pies. I love, love whoopie pies. Just the name alone “WHOOPIE”. I mean C’MON SON. It’s ridonkulous.

I decided to use orange buttercream (yeah I couldnt find any sub for butter, so this technically aint ALL the way vegan. Don’t judge). Mainly cuz I think Vanilla and Orange gets overlooked.

We make such a fuss about chocolate and orange, but vanilla and orange is just as good folks. And messing around (that sounds kinda dirty) I came up with this:

 

Not bad eh? How aboot that. Shout out to the canadiens. I want to go to canada one day. Completely random. But just wanted to say that.

So y’all prob hoping there’s a recipe right? JACKPOT here’s the recipe I created.

Vegan Vanilla Whoopie Pies

  • 2 1/4 C  Flour
  • 1/2 C Sugar
  • 1/2 C Brown Sugar (Yes, There’s a difference)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 C Soy Milk (It looks gross, but it does wonders I’ve heard)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 C Canola Oil

Bake for 10-12 minutes at 375 degrees.

As for the Orange Buttercream

  • 1/2 C Butter or Margarine
  • 2 C Powder Sugar
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 tbspoons of Orange Juice (From the Orange, not the carton peoples)
  • Zest of 1 Orange.

Note: This recipe makes more than a dozen whoopie pies. So have more than 2 cookie sheets on hand. Or just use A LOT of Parchment Paper. And you’ll get this:

Now I had so much batter left over I ended up making a Giant Whoopie Pie. Now I know what you thinking “Pics Or It aint happen” BOOM:

It even took up almost the whole plate.

Yeeahh, I can get a bit outta hand sometimes with the baking. Oh well.

Thats all I got for today folks. Hopefully, you’ll wind up givin this a try. Whether you a Vegan or not.

Like what you see?? Subscribe to this sucker, I keeps it updated weekly. And comment. Good or Bad. I take criticism (not as well as I should but) fairly well.  For now enjoy one shot of the giant whoopie pie

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Whoopie Pies, Vegan Style. With Orange Buttercream. Yeup.

  1. 2girls10potatoes says:

    Those look delicious! I love whoopie pies–thanks for the idea!

  2. foreverrinspired says:

    those look amazing!!! your a really good photographer what camera do you use?? they make the pies look even more delicous

  3. I am not a vegan- but wow- will sure give these a try- I had never heard of a whoopie pie until I saw them on Australian Masterchef (they were cooking in NYC) and I’ve been wanting try one ever since! Thanks!!

  4. hello from a Canadian (thanks for the shout!) living in Scotland. If you’re in North America, EarthBalance is non-dairy butter of choice, if you are in the UK, Pure sunflower does the best for buttercream frostings. I can tell you this from much experimentation and baking.. all vegan.. all awesome!

  5. I enjoy the efforts you have put in this, regards for all the great content.

Leave a Reply

