Meyer-Lemon Sugar Cookies. Hooray!!!

A few weeks ago while shopping at this “Fancy” market place, I walked by a big patch of Meyer-Lemons. I literally backpedaled to the giant bin of Meyer-Lemons and then and there HAD to buy some.

I mean really, I HAD to. Shockingly not that expensive.

Now some of y’all prob heard of Meyer-Lemons but are like whats the difference?

Basically if a Lemon and a Tangerine got together and had a baby, thats what a Meyer-Lemon would be.

Or a “Hybrid” of the two fruits, if you wanna sound fancy and professional. Also tasting it, it’s less “Punch in the Mouth” acidic as a regular lemon.

You know  that face. The whole “My cheeks are slowly merging into my Teeth” face.

Behold the Meyer Lemon:

Aint it pretty?

So for days (and I really do mean DAYS) I was thinking what should I make with this beautiful piece of fruit.

I made a curd. And I thought also a Sorbet. But I still got some Watermelon Sorbet sitting around.

Then I thought: Sugar Cookies. Why? No idea.

If you been following this site for long (I don’t blame ya, if ya hadnt). But I had been on the hunt for the perfect sugar cookie recipe. And I may(or may not, dont matter) have come across success!!

But I went with it. And after a couple of attempts. I came up with a good batch.

Take a look:

Nice thing about theses: They got the sugar taste with a hint of lemon afterwards.

Look at me soundin like a food critic. HA!

Anywhos, y’all should give this a try:

  • 2 C Flour (sifted)
  • 1 1/2 C Sugar
  • 1/2 C Butter (Softened. Never Cold. Unless you want biscuits. lolz)
  • 1 Egg
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 Meyer-Lemon, Juiced and Zested(thats the color part only, the white part is bitter)

Bake for about 10-12 minutes @ 350 degrees.

And you should get something like this:

Pretty simple right?

Well y’all should give it a try.

Oh, BIG NEWS!!!!

Well, maybe not “BIG”.

But, in my best efforts of using my French. I’ve decided the next few weeks of making French Desserts.

Thats right French. This is my shout out to y’all that speak French. Prepare to be amazed. Hopefully.

If y’all wanna keep up with that whole project, subscribe to this site. I dont like saying the “B” word. (Rhymes with “Log”. Wait. Crap.)

I do keep this thing updated a lot. So “Like”, “Comment” and/or “Subscribe”. Or even do all three if you feel up for it.

Til then… I’ll come up with some clever phrase to end theses posts.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Meyer-Lemon Sugar Cookies. Hooray!!!

  1. Nikitaland says:

    I need some milk now! Great post, thanks for sharing!

  2. foodnomnom says:

    i’ve never heard of Meyer Lemons before now i’m going to have to try and hunt some down!

  3. I, uhm, think I love you.

  4. thefaerylady says:

    Wait…a lemon?….and a tangerine?…together?? How have I never heard of a Meyer-lemon before? I sense a ‘treasure hunt’ through the produce department coming on. Those cookies look delightful! Aaand now my stomach is growling at me for teasing it.

Leave a Reply

