Clafoutis: What the heck is that?

 

Happy Leap Day!! And happy B-day to those whose b-day is on a leap day!

So what would that make most people like 5-6 years old?

Anywhos today is also the first of a “Series”. I put that loosely in quotes cuz I dont know how long this’ll last.

This “Series” is an attempt of making desserts from the great country of France. Pourquoi France?

Welp, I took French in both High Skool and College. And I figured I’d put that to good usage.

Now before y’all wonder if I’m fluent in the language: Not Really. BUT! I can translate it. Give me a French Book, and I can make out most of what’s going on.

Of course I coulda tried to be a translator(HA! Yeah right) or be a teacher (Not Happening). But I decided this with this new found love of cooking/baking.

Plus the french have their own style of cooking I’ve heard.

So this is my tribute to the French.  So first up: Clafoutis. What is it you ask?

Basically, it’s the French version of Cobbler (i.e. Peach Cobbler) with the fruit on the bottom. Except instead of using a biscuit-ty kinda dough up top. The  French use a pancake or Crepe (where’s the accent circonflex when ya need it?!) batter to pour over the fruit.

Traditionally this dish is with Cherries. But you can use Plums, Apples, Raspberries, Blackberries if you aint a cherry fan.

Now you know. Where’s that NBC shooting star at when you need it huh?

So speaking of two of those fruits, I used Plums and Apples in this Clafoutis.

I had one of my “Guinea Pigs” try it out. Basically somebody I know who’s willing to sacrifice their appetite for the sake of experimentation.

He liked it.

And it’s very easy to put together

If you got a Crepe Batter Recipe you like to use, go on and use that.

Mines this:

  • 1 C Flour
  • 2 tbs Sugar
  • Big Pinch of Salt
  • 1/4 C Butter (melted)
  • 1 C Milk
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla
  • Zest of a Citrus Fruit (Orange, Lemon. I used Meyer-Lemon) If you want.
  • Take your fruit of choix (thats choice in French) and put 2 tbs of sugar over it and let that get soft.

Pour Batter over Fruit and Bake for about 30-35 minutes at 350 Degrees.

And Voila.

That’s me tryin to be artsy with the aerial shot.

That’s it for this week. Next week, I shall tackle Macrons. (Lord willingly. I’ve heard it’s very tricky.)

Wanna see how THAT turns out? Subscribe to this sucker. I do my best to keep this thing interesting. Also you can comment on WHATEVER you like. Really.

Til’ then A Bientot. That’s french for Laterz. Again where’s the circonflex button when you need it??

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Clafoutis: What the heck is that?

  1. Wow, looks awesome. Nice job. Would never have thought to pour the batter over everything. Oh, those smart French! 🙂

Leave a Reply

