My attempt at Macarons. They look about right, No?

At last, I’ve done it. I think.

I attempted Macarons. Those little cookies thingys that have been apparently popping up everywhere. HOORAY!!

For those of you who: A. Are wondering what in the world are Macarons? B. Why would I attempt them.  or C. Wondering why am I so happy about it? (Or possibly all of the above.)

First of all: Macarons are essentially meringue based cookies with “Almond Flour” and Powdered Sugar.

Second of all: I have decided that I will be attempting French desserts for a while. Could be a few months of this, or I could quit after this one. Who knows, I aint decided yet.

Third of all: I dont know. Im not that perky.

Anywho back to Macarons. They are fairly tricky to do.

By “Tricky” I mean, cooking them in the oven. Theses seen above are after a second attempt at them. Strike that third attempt. That’s the charm right?

When I cooked them the second time, I didnt have the oven door slightly opened. So they looked a bit burned on the top. So that’s something to consider.

So what happened the first time around? I didn’t let ’em rest and the dissolved to nothing-nesss. The extra “s’ is for emphasis.

Whilst reading. (I just said Whilst. Weird.) There’s a debate about after piping out the batter to let them rest or just throw ’em in the oven.

Well I can without a doubt say: LET ‘EM REST!!!!!!!!!!

There aint enough”!” to stress that point. Let them “Rest” is just letting them sit out for about an hour at room temp. It helps dry out a lot of that moisture inside.

So after learning my mistakes the Third time around I wound up with what I think are Macarons.

They look about right, No?

Confession: I hadnt had an ACTUAL Macaron, so I have no idea what they taste like, but I know what they look like though. LOLZ.

 

I feel like my Baking Cred may have taken a hit admitting that. Oh well.

The beauty of Macarons, is that you can dye them any color you want. Or use any filling to sandwich the cookies. I used Peanut Butter. I LUV Peanut Butter.

So as simple as the recipe sounds, it can be intimidating, but no worries. If I could figure this out, so could y’all.

The basic recipe I used was this

  • 4 Egg whites
  • 1/4 C Sugar
  • 1 C of Almond Flour (Aka Almonds grounded to look like dirt, or Flour)
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 C Powder Sugar

BAKE AT 300 degrees for 15 minutes. Rotate about 7 minutes way for even cooking.

Sidenotes

  • Use Old Egg Whites. By old I mean, have ’em seperated and sitting out at room temp covered for about 3 days. They whip up more volume.
  • After piping them out on a baking sheet(with parchment paper). LET THEM SIT for at least an 1 Hour. It’s worth it. TRUST ME. (If the Caps dont work, I dont know what else will)
  • Sift the powder sugar and almond flour,to prevent lumps.
  • Close the oven door  with a wooden spoon sticking out. Helps with them not burning. Complicated, I know.

And you should get something like this. Lord Willing:

Welp, that’s all I got for today. That was a mouthful. Seriously.

Like what you see? Wanna see what’s the next French thing, I’m gonna try and bake?

Comment, Like and/or Subscribe. At least 2 out of 3 aint bad right?

Til then: A Bientot. That means laterz in French.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “My attempt at Macarons. They look about right, No?

  1. lucylikes2eat says:

    macarons are so tricky and these looks great! the blue coloring was a good call 🙂

  2. giggloki says:

    I might actually try these. Macarons are defo popping up everywhere, they just featured heavily in an episode in ‘Upstairs Downstairs’ here in England. 🙂

  3. bigbutter says:

    You’ve inspired me. I’m going to try to master the macaron as well!

  4. Felicitation! Macarons are finicky but your tips definitely work. I agree with letting them sit. Huge. Looking forward to more French baking to come!

  5. Great job they look perfect and very delicious!

  6. You’re a brave man Bill …taking on macarons! Looks like they turned out beautifully. Did you enjoy the taste and their unique texture?

  7. kat says:

    Love the color of these macarons! I think you did a beautiful job! Macarons are one of my fave desserts and just can’t bring myself to ever try making these because I know I would butcher them lol.

  8. I’m allergic to almond – what would be another flour I could substitute?

  9. Lucy says:

    I’m really glad I came across this as I’m planning on making macaroons soon and would have made all the mistakes you mentioned above. You’ve just saved me a lot of time and effort – thank you 😛

Leave a Reply

