Tarte Tatin 101: Figuring out what in the world it is exactly.

First of all, I just realized that the title of this post sounds like a college course.

I should be a professor, No?

Anywho’s this is part 3 of a on-going series. I say “on-going” until I either run out of ideas and/or get bored with this. I get bored fairly easily.

But this is where I tackle French desserts. Last week it was Macarons (see post below), then there was Clafoutis. Today it’s Tarte Tatin.

First of all saying “Tarte Tatin”  sounds like your tongue went numb.

Secondly, it may sound like an overly complicated dessert, like most French desserts. But it aint. It’s basically a French version of an upside-down cake. Or Tart if you wanna be French about it.  Here it is:

So it’s an upside down tart, with the fruit cooked in butter and sugar to give it a good caramelized flavor.

Side note: Speaking of caramel, I’ve got to start making Caramel. I’m making a Grooms Cake this summer. And it involves Caramel. But back to the topic at hand.

So the story behind the Tarte Tatin was it was made by a lady with the last name of Tatin. I bet that was fun say all the time.

Word on the street is, she made it by accident when she was cook the apples,while making Apple Pie, let them cook to long. And too tired to fix it, put a pie crust on the bottom and served it to guest at her hotel. And she was shocked that folks loved it.

That’s the basically story of it in a nutshell.  This version, I used from one Julia Child. But modified it with some pears.

That woman knew stuff, and I admire that.

So using her take on it you use:

  • 2 Granny Smith Apples (chopped)
  • 2 Pears (chopped)
  • 1 lemon (juiced and zested)
  • 1/2 C Butter
  • 1 1/2 C of Sugar
  • 1 Pie Dough (Whatever Recipe you have, or if you’re scared, store-bought)

Side notes:

  • Put 1/2 C of the 1 1/2 C sugar over the Pears and Apples, let’s the sugar soften the fruit .
  • I used Granny Smith, but if you wanna use another apple, make sure they handle heat and not turn to apple sauce.
  • Melt down the butter in a skillet first, add the fruit.
  • Add the remaining 1 Cup of Sugar, Gradually in.
  • Let it cook for about 15 minutes, it’ll turn into a nice syrup over the fruit.
  • Then pour Apples and Pears in a 9-inch cake pan. Then roll out pie dough over the pan and tuck it in over the fruit.
  • Bake in the oven for 20 mins @ 425 Degrees.

And you should get something like this

Not bad huh?

Hopefully, I made this simple enough to where Y’ALL at home give it a shout. Yeah I’m from Tejas. Don’t judge with the grammar.

That’s all I got for now. Like what you see? Like, Comment and/or Subscribe to this sucker. I try to keep it as fun and as entertaining as I can.

And note, I DO update this thing weekly. Sometimes double-weekly. Not sure if that’s a word. But will go with it.  Anywho’s excuse me I gotta finish my bracket. I take March Madness very seriously. I’m in a few pools and ya boy’s gotta win something.

But here’s a slice of Tarte Tatin.

As Julia would say  “Bon Appetit!”

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Tarte Tatin 101: Figuring out what in the world it is exactly.

  1. It looks delish! Great post 🙂

  2. Yum! And looks ubs easy!! Can’t wait to try it.

Leave a Reply

