Banana Nut Bread. What else is there to say?

Lately, I’ve been feelin a bit “Nostalgic”.

Not sure if its all the “Boy Meets World” episodes I’ve been watching. I think the later years when they were in college were the best.

But lately, I’ve been having some throwback moments.

Mainly of the great cartoons of my day in the 90s. I will forever rep the Magic School Bus being one of the greats.

That and SWAT Cats. There was some quality stuff back then.

And what does this have to do with Banana Nut Bread as seen here?

Some folks grow up eating Banana Nut Bread. I wasnt one of them.

BUT

To keep up with this throwback/Nostalgia theme.

Bread was one of the first things I learned to bake. And essentially started this whole wacky baking journey 3 years ago.

The second thing I ever learned to make from scratch was a bread called “Apple-Cinnamon Oatmeal Bread”.

This like the BNB (Banana Nut Bread) was a quick bread. i.e. No Yeast and No waiting 1/2 the day to let it rise.

When I first made this, it was a hit amongst my housemates. The second time around.

I’m pretty sure I burnt it the first time around. Or undercooked, I dont choose to rememeber that.

But anywho the BNB was brought about cuz somebody ( I forgot who) asked me, “Can I make Banana Nut Bread?”

I of course said, “Sure”.

Fun Fact: Never made it before and didn’t really have a recipe to go buy, so I of course just wing-ed it.

So to get this:

You’ll need this:

  • 2 Cups Flour
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 2 Bananas (brown as they can be)
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 C Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 C Reg. Sugar
  • 1/4 C Butter (half of 1 stick)
  • 1/2 C Walnuts (chopped)

Sidenotes:

  • Fastest way to get Bananas brown? Stick ’em in the Freezer for about a day or two.
  • Cream the Butter & the Sugars together. Then go on add the Eggs, Vanilla, and basically everything else but the nuts
  • Place the Walnuts on top.
  • Place in a Bread Pan. Bake in the oven @ 325 degrees for 1 hour.

And thats it.

Give it a shot. Really. And you’ll get somethin like this

Oh also, I’ve attempted Ice Cream. That’s right. I figured it’s Summertime. Gotta do it.

Wanna see the Ice Cream?? And/Or whatever I else I attempt?

Subscribe, Comment and/or Like this sucker. I do update this bad boy weekly.

Now excuse me while I go eat some Ice Cream. Indoors. It’s hot outside.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Banana Nut Bread. What else is there to say?

  1. That is the best looking banana bread I’ve ever seen!

  2. mydearbakes says:

    Loved your recipe, its very detailed! =)

  3. Spitfire says:

    Damn! This looks delicious. Too bad, I am not allowed to bake with eggs, really wanted to give this a try.

Leave a Reply

