Peach Ice Cream and a Flat Tire on the Freeway. What??

Confusing Title? I can explain that.

Highlight of this past Monday: I got a Flat Tire driving on the freeway. Now for those who are from small towns or don’t have freeways in major cities.

One would say it’s scary as hell esp when you live in Texas. It’s a danger zone. But fortunately I was able to get off the freeway accident free and w/some assistant from my one of my boys. Got a spare put on.

Right before a rainstorm hit. To say that I had a “Case of the Mondays”, I’d probably throw somethin at you and laugh at you at the same damn time.

Word of advice for those who have crappy days: Pour ya’self a tall glass of whatever your fav drink is. (Mine’s Peach Lemonade.) Try and Crack a Smile. Thank God you survived the day and hope that tomorrow will be a lil less crappy.

Deep huh?

But enough about THAT day.

Apparently it’s Ice Cream Month. And it just so happen that this summer, I wanted to try my hand at making Ice Cream from scratch.

Sure I’ve made Ice Cream before. (There’s alotta links today). But not the old skool way. With Eggs and Heavy Cream and Whole Milk.

But I wanted to take a crack at it. And made Peach Ice Cream.

See

 

I even put a peach right next to it. To reiterate the point.

I think everybody should attempt a form of Ice Cream. The regular kind. Sherbert. Or if you one of those vegetarian/vegan type. Sorbet.

Next week, I’ll explain the difference between the three styles of Ice Cream.

But back to this bad boy here

 

Fun Fact: If you don’t have an “Ice Cream Machine”. It’s still easy to make Ice Cream.

I learned that from one of my fav dessert peoples: David Lebovitz.

If you got a whisk, Electric Mixers or in my case a Blender. You can make Ice Cream.

Just like dodging a wrench in dodgeball.

So my recipe for Peach Ice Cream consist of this

  • 2 Cups (or a Pint) of Heavy Cream
  • 1 Cup Whole Milk
  • 4 Egg Yolks
  • 1/2 C Sugar
  • 1/4 C Brown Sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extra (you got one of those vanilla beans, use it)
  • 4 Peaches Puree-d

Side Notes (Pay attention this theses y’all!!!)

  • Warm up the milk in a pot, once you see bubbles on the side, take it off the heat.
  • While the milk is warming up, whisk both brown and white sugar with the egg yolks.
  • Take the warm milk and pour some (NOT ALL) of the milk on the eggs WHILE whisking. It’s called tempering. If you dont whisk, the yolks will be scrambled eggs.
  • After whisking some of the milk with the yolks, pour it all back in the pot and whisk it together so it finishes cooking.
  • Best way to know it’s done= The coated spoon test. Take a metal spoon, dip it in the custard, if it coats the back of the spoon. You’ve done work. And stick it in the fridge to cool down.

For the turning it to Ice Cream part

  • Pour it in a container and place it in the freezer for about 1 to 1 1/2 hours.
  • Take it out and with a whisk, mixer, or a blender, crank it and break up the frozen bits with the liquid.  Then place it back in the freezer for another hour.
  • After another hour do the same thing, then place it in the freezer another hour. You should do this no more than 4 times. Then let it sit overnight.

And there you have it.

 

I think the longer it sits, the better it taste. It gives it more time to gel and chill w/each other.

So give it a try. If you can spend 4 hours cooking up a Julia Childs’ Coq-Au-Vin, you can make Ice Cream dangit!!!

That’s all I got today. Like what you see: Comment, Like and/or Subscribe to this page. I swear I do keep this sucker updated.

Next week, I’ll bring more Ice Cream. Speakin of which I got a coupon for free Ice Cream I need to go buy.

Laterz.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Peach Ice Cream and a Flat Tire on the Freeway. What??

  1. roseshadows says:

    This looks and sounds so yummy, thank you. It’s good to see a straightforward recipe that makes you think, yes I could make that!

Leave a Reply

