When you can’t make Doughnuts, You make Doughnut Holes… Smart right?

Doughnuts. I love them.

In high school, I would get a couple doughnuts right before 1st period. Sometimes when I was hanging w/my friends, when I saw doughnuts, I’d run and grab some whilst in mid sentence then go on continuing my thoughts.

Now, I even show up to work early Sundays just to grab a couple of doughnuts. Odd? Maybe.

True story.

If I had a reason why I’m so fat, doughnuts would prob be one of the main reasons.

But fun fact: I’m currently 15-16 pounds lighter than I was in January. Take that HydroxyCut.

I know you prob shouldn’t eat so many, but they just sooo goood.

So, being my usual “DIY-King” self, I HAD to try and make doughnuts.

However, a couple of things: One, I’m not a real fan of havin to use yeast and havin to let it RISE, then sit, then punch it in the face, then let it RISE again for 4-6 hours.

And Two: Don’t really have a deep fryer. And hadn’t really worked up the nerve to try and fry stuff yet, sorta feel like that guy who’d put too much oil in the pot and cause a grease fire.

So had to use what I know, the oven. Plus baked seems a bit “Healthier” than frying. From what I heard.

So I tried to make the doughnuts, only to realize, I don’t have a doughnut pan.

Welp, I thought I’d try to use the back of a muffin pan. They looked like awkward squares.

After goin back to the drawin board. I came up w/ this:

Doughnut Holes.

The mini-version of doughnuts. And the crazy thing is, they tasted like ’em too.

Cray Cray indeed. Yeah I just threw that in it a sentence.

So how do you do it, y’all ask? Easy

Baked Doughnut Holes

  • 2 C’s Flour
  • 1/3 C Sugar
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla
  • 2/3 C Milk
  • 1 Egg
  • 2 Tbspoons Oil
  • 1 Tbspoon Baking Powder
  • 1 Tsp cinnamon
  • Pinch of salt

Dipping Material(s)

  • 2 Tbspoons melted Butter
  • 1 Tsp Cinnamon
  • 2 Tbspoon Sugar

Bake for 10-12 minutes @ 350 degrees.

Sidenotes:

  • Roll up the dough in little balls and place either in a muffin tins or a cookie sheet. Then bake.
  • This’ll prob yield at least 12-18 doughnut holes. Depending on the size.
  • Afterwards, brush with the melted butter. Then dip in the cinnamon sugar.

Then you get this:

 

And there y’all have it.

Pretty simple, do this on a saturday, you got some breakfast food for the morning.

Y’all should give these a try. Β And that’s all I got for this week.

Like what y’all see?

Comment/ Like and/or Subscribe. I do update this sucker weekly.

Also, if y’all got any suggestions of food. TELL ME! Seriously. I aint a DIY-King for nothin.

Here’s another pic of doughnut holes for y’all

 

I want some doughnuts now.

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

54 thoughts on “When you can’t make Doughnuts, You make Doughnut Holes… Smart right?

  1. Conor Bofin says:

    Very inventive Bill. Reminds me of the joke about the naked chef who made two things. Pizza and ring doughnuts. Pizza by slapping the dough on his chest. Ring doughnuts by….
    Best,
    Conor

  2. iamluissilva says:

    Never again shall I take them for granted

  3. Katherine says:

    The donut diet! Look out Hollywood! I remember I dated a guy once and his mom was on the cookie diet… Right after the smoothie diet.

    But anywho, I do love donuts, and since I am afraid of deep frying (ever seen a fried hand? I have, first hand. no pun intended), I will most definitely be trying this. Probably tomorrow. Because I don’t have milk.

  4. ChiefAaron says:

    Who would want donuts when you can have donut holes!? The latter are WAY better. Mmmm.

  5. Great recipe! I bet if you mixed in 1/4 cup of cocoa powder in as well, you’d get devil’s food cake doughnut holes that you could dip in powdered sugar instead of the cinnamon sugar thing. πŸ™‚ Just a suggestion!

  6. chewoutloud says:

    Want doughnuts or doughnut holes now. I kinda wish I didn’t read and write so much about food late at night, when hunger pangs strike! Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

  7. celastrina says:

    Wow they look super tasty, can’t wait to try out your recipe!!

  8. kreamco says:

    that looks sooooooo good…i think im gonna try it…

  9. knight says:

    YUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUM!!!!!!!!!!! YOU WILL MAKE ME FAAAAAT!!!

  10. marymtf says:

    You’re my kind of cook, ole Bill, no fuss, no muss. I’m going to try this recipe because I like donuts and like you, I don’t like waiting.However, going from the ingredients,it looks more like mini cakes than donut holes. Maybe it’s dipping it in cinnamonn that gives it a donut taste. I’ll give it a review when I have tried it.

  11. They look so delicious ! Actually when I was a kid I used to prefer the holes to the
    doghnuts so I just love the idea !

  12. Surely it’s wrong to want to make these at 10AM?! They look amazing!

  13. hotechnology says:

    …So funny and nice!
    I reblogged your cooking adventure with doughnuts, I hope you’ll like it! πŸ˜‰
    Thanks for sharing.

  14. jhl03 says:

    These look soooo good!!

  15. PrettyGee says:

    Nice post. πŸ™‚

  16. Nikitaland says:

    I have been a follower of your blog for awhile now, and I have got to say that I love your blog and all of your recipes. Thanks so much for taking the time to make your posts informative and, not to mention, fun! (Val ~ http://www.nikitaland.wordpress.com )

  17. Karen B says:

    I saw donuts and thought of Homer Simpson…I love donuts!

    You and I seem to share the same philosophy in cooking effort and ingenuity. As it stands, I have all the tools I need to make a batch of those yummy donuts, tonight. Can’t wait!

  18. golynn says:

    All I gotta say.
    Creative.
    Ha ha

  19. Leah says:

    These look delicious! Great pictures πŸ™‚

  20. Thanks for the recipe !!! cant wait to try to make them πŸ™‚
    btw, do you mind checking out my blog? its new and id really appreciate your opinion! i have a healthy mug brownie recipe on it πŸ™‚
    Thanks so much

  21. kiisu23 says:

    These look great! I’m always on the hunt for foody-DIY, I’ll have to give these a go! Thankyou

  22. Looks delicious πŸ˜€ did you just add all the ingredients, or was there a specific method slash order?

  23. Mei says:

    These are so cute! and look yummy too! I’ll have to try these when I’m off my diet. Thanks for sharing!

  24. We made these this morning and they were really good. My kids make picky eating an Olympics worthy event; Even they loved them! Next time, I think I’ll make a chocolate dipping sauce to go with it and turn it into desert!

  25. Josh Harb says:

    Reblogged this on Josh Harb and commented:
    Yum! πŸ˜€

  26. It looks great! I want to try to add some blueberries to this recipe.

    http://stepstochangetheworld.wordpress.com/

  27. Tom says:

    Looks delicious, definitely trying this one. Thanks for sharing!

  28. Awesome! Sounds fantastic! I will definitely be trying this.

    And congrats on the Freshly Pressed!

  29. Yum! They look absolutely scrumptious. I can’t wait to give the recipe a try. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  30. Virginia says:

    I have been a Baker for a Very Long Time (biscuits, cakes, muffins of every variety weekly) but after doing yeast in my younger days cannot be bothered – so have never made donuts. Now, however, watch out… as this recipe for sure is ‘gonna get tried, soonest!

    Also like Natalie’s suggestion about the cocoa? and Notes From the Backseat about adding a chocolate sauce (if no time to make one, Trader Joe’s Midnight Moo is quite a yummy way to turn a plain morsel into a Treat, with a capital ‘T’ : )

    oh, & if you squish down the ones in the muffin tins & add a dollop of tasty jam in the middle? Jelly-filled donut? would that work??

    LOVE YOUR BLOG! …

    grace, peace & DOUGHNUTS – Virginia : )

  31. Awesome! I’m going to try this.

  32. chaotican says:

    This sounds almost like moneky pull apart bread. A fine thing sound like!

  33. Yay! I love donuts so much, but hot oil and I never get along…I’m definitely going to try the baking idea. Thanks for sharing!

  34. megacolby says:

    Reblogged this on Technicolby and commented:
    Yummy, I love doughnuts AND doughnut holes! xD I always pick some up the last Friday of every month! πŸ™‚

  35. Nice job. These look really yummy. I’ve never made them that way, so it looks like I will have to give it a try. Congrats on being FP!

  36. cartoonmick says:

    Stay cool, but don’t drool.

  37. When life gives you lemons – make doughnuts!

  38. vinqunna says:

    Reblogged this on Qunna's Fashion idea line and commented:
    Oooo, looks yummy πŸ™‚

  39. moredrizzle says:

    I just made some of these and they are quick, easy and delicious. Thinking I might add a little finely diced apple next time and see how it goes! Thanks for the great recipe! πŸ™‚

  40. Ninay says:

    They look like “mochi ice cream”, so delicate and tempting! πŸ™‚
    I would love to taste one, please.

  41. Charlotte says:

    they look sooo yummy πŸ™‚

  42. thesaltygoat says:

    YUM!!!

  43. fridaspeach says:

    Hah great sence of humour πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for the recipe!

    Hugs
    Frida

    http://www.fridaspeach.wordpress.com

  44. […] weren’t super pretty and I have no idea why ours didn’t look like the one posted on the original blog (what a surprise though; probably added too much cinnamon or too little sugar, but either way it […]

Leave a Reply

