My never-endin quest for the Wildberry Pop Tarts (pt.1?)

 

Wildberry Pop Tarts. How’d I decide on this one?

Funny story: Last week, I had a craving for some Pop Tarts. And one of my fav’s is Wildberry Pop Tarts.

It’s up there in the Top 3 of fav Pop Tarts I would eat when I was in college. The other two are: Brown Sugar Cinnamon & Cookie Dough. (Soooooo Good).

However after posting on FB, I was shocked to find out that they stop making Wildberry Pop Tarts.

Like “Clutch The Pearls” shocked. And I was saddened by this. (Not Really, BUT…)

BUT, my “DIY-King”self just HAD to make some. #Foodie Problems….

And after researching around to figure what the heck goes into Wildberry.

(I’m just gonna take a crack at it and say that the name has to do w/berries growing in the wild. Maybe??)

I came up with this:

The Wildberry Pop Tart. My way anyways.

Shocking thing was, that it did taste like Wildberry. Cray Cray right???

It’ll take a minute to cook,(no, not literally a minute) but it’s worth it in the end.

So to get this filling (clever word-play eh?):

You’ll need this:

  • 1 Pint of Blueberries
  • 1 Cup of Raspberries
  • 1 Cup of Blackberries
  • 1 Orange (Juiced)
  • 1/2 Cup Sugar
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla
  • 2 Tblspoons Flour

Sidenotes:

  • Take the Blueberries, Blackberries and Raspberries in a fairly big saucepan. Juice an orange and place the sugar in the saucepan and let it come to a boil on medium heat.
  • After about 10 minutes or until  the berries burst and juices are flowing. The juices should all infuse w/each other.
  • Once that happens strain it, to remove the seeds and skins. Then place the juice back into the saucepan on Medium heat.
  • Then proceed to add the flour, it’ll be the thickener. Once it’s thickened up, then take off the heat. Add some vanilla then let it cool off.
  • From there take whatever Pie Dough recipe you got, cut it into squares, spread the filling on, cover it, then brush an egg wash over.
  • Then Bake for 35 minutes @ 350 Degrees(z)

And that’s it…For Realz.

Crazy thing is that, the filling can double as a spread on Peanut Butter Sandwiches or Toast for Breakfast.

Best of Both Worlds.

So with that said. Hopefully y’all give this a try.

Like what y’all see?

Comment, Like and/or Subscribe to this bad boy right here. (HOP TO IT (WO)MAN!)

I do update this sucker on a weekly basis.

And hopefully your favorite Pop Tart dont go out of sale. But take one for the road.

 

Til next time…. I can’t think of nothin to go with this line.

Eat a Pop Tart I guess.

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “My never-endin quest for the Wildberry Pop Tarts (pt.1?)

  1. menusofamom says:

    I want to eat this.

    🙂 Do you think these would freeze well?

  2. […] My never-endin quest for the Wildberry Pop Tarts (pt.1?) (jbake7.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

