When Life (Or Somebody you know) Gives You Limes, You Make Tarts.Somethin like that.

What up world, September is damn-near over. Crazy.

Thanks to those who wished me happy b-day durin the last post. I meant to do that a while ago.

But as usual, I get easily distracted w/other stuff.

Other stuff being listenin to the new Mumford & Sons album.  Truly Cray Cray.

One of the few times I’ve listen to an album top to bottom. But thats not what this post is about.

This post is about Limes. Yeah thats right Limes.

Fun Fact: One of the few fruits that are a year-round thing. In general Citrus fruits are.

Interesting cuz when I first started this cooking adventure, I didnt know about seasonal fruit.

I always wondered why I couldnt eat Peaches around X-Mas time. That makes me sad sometimes.

Speakin of which, I’m sure somebody out there is blaring X-Mas music right now as I type this.

But anywhos.

A couple weeks ago, I received a gift. A Gift of Limes.  From a friend who’s grandparents Lime tree gave off so many of ’em that she was giving them away.

Now these suckers arent the tiny limes you see at the grocery store.

Theses suckers are HUGE

 

I had never seen Limes that big. Mind Blowed Folks.

SO, what did I decide to do??? Make a Tart.

But Mini-Tarts instead.

Note to self: Buy one of those fancy tart shell pans, if I wanna be “Fancy”-er.

But for now I GUESS I’ll be easy and practical. #FoodieProblems.

I used the back of a Cupcake Tin, to get the Mini-Tart shells.

Now you can use any pie dough recipe that have and if you have a Cupcake Tin like Moi, cut out circles big enough to cover the bottoms of each shell.

Then proceed to poke holes in the dough to prevent “Puff-Ups”.

Now for the Lime Curd. What is it??

Lime Curd= Spreadable Jam for Citrus Fruit.

How do you make it? You ask? Simple my boy(or girl)

  • 2/3 Cup Lime Juice (Squeezed)
  •  Zest of 2 Limes
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1 Cup Sugar (you can add less if you REAALLY love the Lime flavor)
  • 1/4 C Butter, Cubed.

Sidenotes:

  • Over a Double-Boiler (aka A Bowl sitting over a Pot of Simmering Water) whisk Egg Yolks, Sugar, Lime Juice and Zest for about 10 minutes.
  • Note: The Double-Boiler gives the egg yolks enough heat to where it aint raw anymore, but not enough heat to scramble the yolks.
  • But do keep about a 1 inch of water simmer and the bowl above it and not touching the water at all.
  • After 10 minutes, take it off the heat and add the butter in batches, so it’ll come together. Dumping the Butter at once, may risk greasy-ness.
  • If you plan on storing the Curd, make sure to put plastic wrap on top of the Curd. If you don’t a “Skin” will form up top.
  • After you bake the tart dough for whatever time you do,  Add the curd in the shell(s) and bake for about 15 minutes. Or til the curd sets up is jiggly.

And that is it. And you get this

 

And that’s it. Easy right? You oughta give this a shot.

And that’s all I got for today. What will I make next?

Shoot, I dont know. If y’all wanna give me ideas, feel free to.

Like what y’all see?

Comment, Like and/or Subscribe. I do update this sucker on a weekly basis.

So until then,…. Shoot. I dont even know how to end this thing.

I swear I’m workin on that.

Running is hard.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “When Life (Or Somebody you know) Gives You Limes, You Make Tarts.Somethin like that.

  1. Amanda Campbell says:

    I think you just said my two favourite things… Lime tarts and Mumford & Sons. Love this! We’ve been thinking of making some key lime tarts soon… Now y

  2. Amanda Campbell says:

    I think you just said my two favourite things… Lime tarts and Mumford & Sons. Love this! We’ve been thinking of making some key lime tarts soon… Now you’ve got us inspired! Thanks!

  3. Conor Bofin says:

    Youngest daughter got me into the Mumford thing. She is in Canada at present and spread the new album word from there. Your photography is getting better. Great tart shots.
    Best,
    Conor

  4. rojarbean says:

    Reblogged this on rojarbean.

Leave a Reply

