Tha Pumpkin Saga Pt.4 (NUMBA 4!!!): Pumpkin Cake Roll. When will this ever end?

Holy Crap its November?!

Well Happy November 1st y’all!! Oddly enough here its in the 70s. Texans Problems.

Anyways a lot has happened in the last 7 days (well technically 6, but whos countin? Oh wait….)

I ran in a Half-Marathon Relay. I apparently ran my portion of 6.6825 in 56:22. 

Allegedly. But I’ll take it!

The Half of a Half-Marathon is actually somewhat responsible for this post. 

I had to bribe my partner to get her to actually start running. 

Which in hindsight is prob odd cuz I’m a guy and normally the guy is getting bribed by the girl, not the other way around. 

Oh wellz.

But I bribed my partner with this:

 

Pumpkin Cake Roll

I had roasted a Pumpkin and have been on a tear w/ Pumpkin inspired Desserts. For those wonderin “Why you keep using Pumpkin?!!!”

Maybe not wondering but prob are like “UGGGHHH!!” 

Anyways, our team “The Ball So Hard University Relay Team” finished in the Top 20. At 20th place in 2:11 minutes. 

Not bad considering neither one of us ever ran a half-marathon relay before. 

I say, Job Well Done, No?

Now that I got that outta the way, I gotta admit, I do miss the training for running. 

Did not think that was possible. BUT I do. I would highly recommend running a relay.

Dont do it to try to win, do it just cuz it’s an experience. Also the free food at the end. 

I am a sucker for that.

So for those wonderin how to make a Pumpkin Cake Roll. It’s easy.

The Recipe is as Follow

  • 2/3 Cup Pumpkin Puree (Fresh or Canned)
  • 3/4 Cup Flour
  • 1/2 C Brown Sugar
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 C Sugar
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 Tablespoon Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp Ground Ginger
  • 1/4 tsp Ground Cloves

Bake @ 375 degrees for 10 minutes or til a toothpick/fork comes cleanly in the center.

Sidenotes:

  • Have a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper.
  • Mix everything like you would a cake, then pour the batter on the cookie sheet w/parchment and bake.
  • WHILST the cake bake (yeah I said that) get a towel laid out and covered with POWDERED SUGAR. It’ll help it come off cleanly.
  • After you take the cake out the oven, (and be sure to run a knife along the sides for easy removal) flip the cake over on the powdered sugar towel.
  • Roll up slowly and let it cool, roll’d up. 
  • After unrolling, fill it w/ whatever cream filling you’d like. Then roll back up.

Then thats it and you’ll get this

I garnished it with Powder Sugar at the end for kicks. 

Welp on that note. Thanksgiving is only 3 weeks away. Yeah lets acknowledge it.

And not forgo it for Christmas…I will say if you can blare X-Mas music now, surely I can drink EggNog in public w/o being judged.

Although in 70 degree weather may make you feel sick….Oh well.

But thats all I got for today. Hope y’all liked it. 

If you did…Like/Comment/Subscribe to this bad boy. I do update this sucker weekly. 

But til then, hopefully y’all had/have a good Halloween.

I heard some cities are having late cuz of Silly Sandy. I was a NFL Replacement Ref.

The few of y’all who follow Football may get the joke. But I digress (fancy word).

I’ll give some ideas for Thanksgiving Desserts(If needed). Only if y’all ask for it though…. AHH I’ll do it.

Til then.  Im gonna go see if they got Eggnog somewhere. 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Tha Pumpkin Saga Pt.4 (NUMBA 4!!!): Pumpkin Cake Roll. When will this ever end?

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    nothing like a funny cooking blog. and a cooking man? priceless.

Leave a Reply

