Apple-Blackberry Crisp…my take on tryna be “Healthy”… allegedly.

Well y’all, it’s that time of the year…

Where we swear we gonna hit the gym and lose that weight from all the ham and cake we ate over x-mas but by 2 weeks in, we quit and try to do it again next year.

Well to that I say…. that maybe true. BUT it don’t have to be w/your food eating.

No you aint gotta go on a soy diet or starve yourself.

Or in yours truly case eat a lot of food w/ Flax Seed in it and have slowly come back to haunt you…. #TMI ???

I learned last year, you can drop some weight if you don’t overeat.

AKA “Don’t keep eating til you have a Food Baby”

Eat til you feel yourself get full y’all!!

With that said, for those w/a sweet tooth, I’m startin a MOVEMENT!!

I sound like Puffy/Diddy…(Don’t care what he calls himself, I know him as Puff).

Anyways for this month (or however long I keep y’alls and my attention in this) I will make desserts that can be seen as quote/unquote “Healthy”.

See what I did there…cray cray right???

SO I present the first one: Apple-Blackberry Crisp!!!

Apple-Blackberry Crisp

The word “Crisp” sounds fancy huh???

Well its  in the same style as say Cobbler, BUT crisp has a lighter topping on it rather than a biscuit dough up top.

It even looks pretty right??…. Maybe???

Anyways, it’s a bit of a fancier step than just putting a bowl of berries together w/some sugar and cream and sayin that’s dessert.

No, that is just bein LAZY!!!

Forgive me for my some-what outburst… if that’s what you call it.

But none the less, it’s fairly simple to pull off to get this:

Apple-Blackberry Crisp

You’ll need the following.

Apple-Blackberry Crisp

  • 2 Granny Smith Apples (they SUPER tart)
  • 1 Cup of Blackberries
  • 1/4 Cup of Sugar
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg (Grated)
  • 1/2 Cup Oats (ya know,the ones you make oatmeal with)
  • 1/2 Cup Flour
  • 1/4 Cup Butter (cold & cubed)
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 Tablespoons of Sugar

Sidenotes:

  • For the topping start w/ the ingredients starting with the word “Oats” on down in a blender and pulse til it looks on crumbly and stuff.
  • Peel the skin off the apples and slice ’em up and place along with the blackberries in a baking dish.
  • Pour sugar over the fruit and stir to coat.
  • Add cinnamon & nutmeg. Thats important for whatever reason.
  • Add the topping and place in the oven @ 375 degrees for about 40-45 minutes.

Pretty straightforward y’all. You can even eat it w/some (GASP!!!) Vanilla Ice Cream…

I know, I know “CLUTCH THA PEARLS!!!”, you can sub it w/yogurt if you must.

Welp, that’s all I got for this week….

If y’all like what y’all see? Comment!, Subscribe! and/or Like! this page

That’s me shoutin at y’all….

But I do update this sucker fairly regularly … you can insert a joke there somewheres.

But w/that said, here’s another look at the CRISP!!

IMG_5703

I don’t know why I like that word “CRISP” so much…

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

