Zuppa Ingles Tart & Hard Boiled Egg Yolks: Yes, theses 2 do have something to do w/each other.

Confused by this title?

I was when we had to make this tart in class.  Apparently it means “English Soup” in Italian.

Not sure where the “Soup” part comes in.

But I will say it is VERY fancy.

Fancy-er than anything I’ve made before.

Yeah I  used “Fancy-er” in a sentence #DontJudgeMe

From the outside it looks like a deep dish tart w/lot of Filling.

Zuppa Inglese Tart

The tart itself is like a layered Lasagna.

  • Shortbread Tart (w/Melted White Chocolate painted in)
  • Sponge Cake  (w/ Simple Syrup painted on.)
  • Raspberry Jam
  • Pastry Cream
  • Fresh Strawberries
  • Chantilly Cream (aka Whipped Cream named after a chef)

It took me and my partner, cuz we were short, almost 6 hours.

Granted you see that Laundry List of Stuff to make.  #SHEESH.

So about the Hard Boiled Egg Yolks, no thats not in the Pastry Cream if you mess up on…

It’s in the Shortbread Tart: Apparently if you grind Egg Yolks into powder thru a sifter,

It helps with the Texture…James Beard you crafty fellow you.

When I heard we were using Hard Boiled Egg Yolks, I said “What The Hell??!!”

BUT, you don’t taste it though. Never cooked Hard Boiled Eggs…like…. ever.

I imagine trying to sell that sucker would be VERERHEY (very) Expensive…

Not ingredient wise, just labor wise. Putting it together is like “WHEW”

But it does/did taste good…Yeah I ate the whole thing myself #dontjudgeme

Normally I give food away to my friends that come by, I offer up a slice of tart…but not that one though.

I feel so ashamed!!!….not.

Look at it!!!!

Zuppa Inglese Tart

So the Lesson of this week: Apparently you CAN put Hard Boiled Egg Yolks in Tart Dough.

Also that you prolly make a buck off of that thing too.

I might even make that sucker for Thanksgiving…Potential Ideas in the making.

And yes, I do plan out the Thanksgiving Holiday meal in advance, you’d prolly love that.

Welp, thats all I got for this week.

Til next time, I actually turned on the Heater on in my car last night..

Fall COULD IT BE  REALLY YOU!??!!!

No idea. But I do love rocking a hoodie.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Zuppa Ingles Tart & Hard Boiled Egg Yolks: Yes, theses 2 do have something to do w/each other.

  1. “zuppa” actually comes from an older word which means “to dunk.” Soups and stews (a vehicle for bread dunking) have the name, but so do both custardy and boozy desserts that were traditionally designed to dunk hard cookies, like ladyfingers.

  2. PRICE OF WISDOM says:

    Drool factor very high over here.

Leave a Reply

